Greg Scheer - Awake, Sweet Gratitude

from by Cardiphonia Music



Words: Augustus M. Toplady (1771), alt. Greg Scheer
Music: Greg Scheer, April 2012


1Awake, sweet gratitude, and sing
The ascended Saviour’s love;
Sing how he lives to carry on
His people’s cause above.

2 With cries and tears he offered up
His humble prayers below;
But with authority he asks,
Enthroned in glory now.

Awake, sweet gratitude,
awake, sweet gratitude,
and sing the ascended savior's love.

3 For all that come to God by him,
Salvation he demands;
Points to their names upon his breast,
And spreads his wounded hands.

4 His sweet atoning sacrifice
Gives sanction to his claim:
“Father, I will that all my saints
Be with me where I am.”

5 Eternal life, at his request,
To every saint is given;
Safety on earth, and, after death,
The plenitude of heaven.

6 Founded on right, thy prayer avails;
The Father smiles on thee;
And now thou in thy kingdom art,
Dear Lord, remember me.


from Hymns for the Ascension, released May 24, 2012
(c) Greg Scheer, 2012


all rights reserved


Cardiphonia Music recommends:

If you like Cardiphonia Music, you may also like: