Wen Reagan - Christ the Lord

from by Cardiphonia Music



Words: Michael Weisse (1531) Tran: Catherine Winkworth (1858, alt.) adapted by Wen Reagan
Music: Wen Reagan, 2012


D G Bm
Christ the Lord is risen again!
Christ has broken ev'ry chain!
D G D - A
Hark, the angels shout for joy,
Bm G D
Singing evermore on high,
He who gave for us His life,
Who for us endured the strife,
Is our Paschal Lamb to-day!
We too sing for joy, and say:
Em - Bm G - D Em - Bm G - D
Hallelujah! Hallelujah! Hallelujah, Hallelu!
He who bore all pain and loss
Comfortless upon the cross,
Lives in glory now on high,
Pleads for us and hears our cry:
Hallelujah! Hallelujah! Hallelujah, Hallelu!
A Bm
He who slumber'd in the grave
Is exalted to save;
A Bm
Now throughout the world we sing
That the Lamb is King!
Em Bm G D
The Lamb is King! The Lamb is King!
He whose path no records tell,
Who descended into hell,
Who the strong man arm'd hath bound,
Now in highest heaven is crown'd:
Hallelujah! Hallelujah! Hallelujah, Hallelu!
Thou our Paschal Lamb indeed,
Christ, to-day Thy people feed;
Take our sins and guilt away,
That we all may sing for thee,
Hallelujah! Hallelujah! Hallelujah, Hallelu!


from Hymns for the Ascension, released May 24, 2012
Music: ©2012 Wen Reagan
Words: Adapted by Wen Reagan from Michael Weisse (1531) Translator: Catherine Winkworth (1858, alt.)


all rights reserved


Cardiphonia Music recommends:

If you like Cardiphonia Music, you may also like: